Mens NZ Sevens trialists for Olympics named

The 16 NZ Sevens players will compete for spots on the Rio Olympics Sevens Squad and will all be playing during the final legs of the Sevens World Series in Paris and London this May.


Credit - NZ Sevens Facebook Page


All Blacks Sevens coach Gordon Tietjens says, "We're taking 16 to Europe so we can share the workload and give all players the opportunity to make the final team."

The Olympic squad will begin their training camp in Mt Maunganui before they fly to Europe as part of preparations for the Rio Olympic Games in August.

The squad includes injured captain Scott Curry, who will train with the squad but won't play in the tournaments.

Brothers Akira and Rieko Ioane have also joined the squad for Paris and London.

The other usual suspects join Curry in the team, while Sam Dickson, Ben Lam and Joe Webber were not considered due to injury. Dickson and Webber remain in contention to make the team.

Currently New Zealand are third in the 10-round series behind Fiji and South Africa.

In mid-June, following the tournaments in May, all 16 players will take part in trials for the New Zealand Olympic sevens team to be named by the New Zealand Olympic Committee in early July.

The trialists are:


Pita Ahki (North Harbour)

Kurt Baker (Taranaki)

Dylan Collier (Waikato)

Scott Curry (Bay of Plenty)

DJ Forbes (Counties Manukau)

Akira Ioane (Auckland)

Rieko Ioane (Auckland)

Gillies Kaka (Hawke's Bay)

Liam Messam (Waikato)

Tim Mikkelson (Waikato)

Sione Molia (Counties Manukau)

Lewis Ormond (Taranaki)

Augustine Pulu (Counties Manukau)

Teddy Stanaway (Bay of Plenty)

Regan Ware (Waikato)

Sonny Bill Williams (Counties Manukau)